Body Dysmorphic Disorder – Remembering Nathaniel

June 5, 2012 at 8:01 pm 6 comments

I want to share this heartbreaking yet hopeful story of a father’s pilgrimage in memory of his son, Nathaniel.

Nathaniel suffered from Body Dysmorphic Disorder (BDD) and took his own life in April, 2011.

Entry filed under: Mental Health, OCD. Tags: , , , .

OCD and Thought-Action Fusion To Tell or Not To Tell

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. 71 & Sunny  |  June 5, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    So, so heartbreaking. Makes me feel like crying. What a fabulous thing his father is doing by raising all this money in his son’s honor. I’m sure his son would be proud of him.

    Reply
  • 2. ocdtalk  |  June 6, 2012 at 9:10 am

    Thanks for commenting Sunny. This really got to me too……but his dad is doing so much good in the wake of this unthinkable tragedy.

    Reply
  • 3. Tina Fariss Barbour  |  June 6, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    This is just heartbreaking. I didn’t know a lot about BDD, but it sounds devastating. What his father is doing is amazing, to be able to do something good while in so much pain. Thank you for sharing this.

    Reply
  • 4. ocdtalk  |  June 6, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    Thanks for the comment, Tina…..yes, the dad sounds like an amazing man.

    Reply
  • 5. krystallynn  |  June 7, 2012 at 5:53 pm

    I was afraid to read this, my brother committed suicide a few years ago and it eats you raw to lose someone that way. I think you always wonder if there was anything more you could have said or done. Interestingly Nathaniel knew that because of what his note said.
    Certainly I have been to a point where I felt almost no hope left and somehow I was lifted to fight on one more time. I think that is why I blog..I don’t know how often or who reads mine it but if only one person drops by and can see that there are treatment options.. or at your lowest point you can rise up and feel better again, that would make me so happy.

    Reply
    • 6. ocdtalk  |  June 7, 2012 at 6:09 pm

      I am so sorry about the loss of your brother, Krystallynn, and am sure that your blog has already helped many people……

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,297 other followers

