OCD and Decision Making

August 12, 2012 at 10:20 pm 14 comments

Many years ago, I saw the movie Moscow on the Hudson, about a Russian musician named Vladimir Ivanoff who defects to the United States. One scene in particular has always stuck in my mind: Vladimir (played by Robin Williams) goes to the supermarket and has what seems like a panic attack over all of the choices. Coming from a country where he had to stand in line for hours to get a ration of coffee, he now had the freedom to pick and choose from an entire aisle of seemingly endless choices. It overwhelmed him, to say the least.

Many of us can relate somewhat to this scenario. Our culture is one of freedom and abundance, and those two factors lead to decision making in every aspect of our lives. From what to eat and where to live to whom or if to marry, to Kindle, Nook, or actual book, to career goals and travel plans, we are faced with a myriad of decisions daily.

Now add obsessive-compulsive disorder into the equation, and it might be a recipe for disaster. Since doubt is the cornerstone of OCD, sufferers often have the need to know, for certain, that all these decisions they are making are the right ones. They may worry how their choices will affect others, and agonize over even the most  minor decisions. Or they may make a decision right away, only to have OCD sabotage it. The weight attached to decisions can be too much to bear, at which point the sufferer may avoid making decisions whenever possible. Unfortunately, avoidance is never the answer, and while this tactic may temporarily quell anxiety, in the long run it will make OCD stronger. Exposure Response Prevention Therapy can help sufferers learn to accept the uncertainty that comes with decision making.

But those with OCD are not the only ones affected by having to make too many decisions. Barry Schwartz, a psychologist and author of The Paradox of Choice, explores the connection between depression and the abundance of choice. I recommend checking out his talk here. His ideas make a lot of sense and he is enjoyable to listen to. He brings up the point that when we have no choice in a matter and something goes wrong , we have no reason to blame ourselves. When we do have choices to make, whether it’s something as trivial as which jeans to buy, or something more significant like a career move, we have high expectations and expect everything to be perfect. When our expectations inevitably fall short, we blame ourselves. After all, we are the ones who made the decision. Maybe we should have made a different choice?

According to Dr. Schwartz, too much choice undermines happiness. I think this is as good a reason as any to simplify our lives as much as possible. And whether we have OCD or not, we need to be able to accept the decisions we make and go on with our lives. If we don’t, our mental health will surely suffer.

Entry filed under: Mental Health, OCD. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Book Review: I Hardly Ever Wash My Hands Exciting OCD Research

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. 71º & Sunny  |  August 12, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    Totally awesome post, Janet! This makes incredible sense to me. I have berated myself for “bad choices” sometimes for years on end. How ridiculous to waste that much energy on something long gone.

    It is true that being afraid of making a wrong choice just paralyzes you. Plus, I’ve often found that when you don’t make a choice, you’ve actually made a choice by your in-action and there are consequences from that too. Good stuff here and lots to think about. Thanks!

    Reply
    • 2. Janet Singer  |  August 13, 2012 at 7:43 am

      Excellent point, Sunny, about making a choice not to make a choice. It’s interesting how it’s so clear to look back and realize how agonizing over a choice was such wasted energy, but when you’re in the “thick of it” you don’t see it that way. Thanks for your insight!

      Reply
  • 3. logicallyillogicalwithocd  |  August 13, 2012 at 12:28 am

    Choices can be one of the hardest aspects of OCD… I agonize over so many decisions…because like you said if I make the “wrong” choice it will be “all my fault”. I have been stuck in this cycle for a decision now… I must make a decision and like Sunny said I know by not making a choice I have already made a choice…Ugh..sometimes it is so exhausting.

    Reply
  • 4. Janet Singer  |  August 13, 2012 at 7:49 am

    I’m sorry this is an issue for you now, and hope you can make a decision to make a decision :). I’m exhausted just thinking about it and I’m not even going through it. Good luck…you can do it!

    Reply
  • 5. Tina Fariss Barbour  |  August 13, 2012 at 10:53 am

    Great post, Janet–very insightful and helpful. I have beaten myself up over career decisions (and other decisions) I made in the past, believing that I “must” have made the wrong decision if I’m not perfectly happy with the results. Which really doesn’t make sense, because we’ll probably never be perfectly happy with the results of any decision. It’s just so easy to blame myself. And in order to avoid feeling guilt, I have avoided decisions.

    Reply
    • 6. Janet Singer  |  August 13, 2012 at 5:36 pm

      I think you’re right, Tina. No decision is perfect and will make us perfectly happy. We need to remind ourselves of that and stop assigning blame. Thanks for sharing!

      Reply
  • 7. krystallynn  |  August 13, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    I so agree with too many choices undermining our happiness. Maybe that is why I like nature so much and spend as much time outdoors as possible..I get what I get in nature and there is nothing I can do about it but deal with it.

    Reply
    • 8. Janet Singer  |  August 13, 2012 at 5:38 pm

      That’s so true, Krystallynn. I actually just used the example of a tornado destroying a house in another piece I wrote. We wouldn’t blame ourselves for that as the weather is in no way our “decision.” Maybe that’s why nature is so calming for so many people. It just “is”.

      Reply
  • 9. Sparky  |  August 13, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    In the true spirit of an OCD sufferer…
    What happens if the decision to simplify things doesn’t work? What about all those abandoned choices? What happens when you discover that you’ve “locked out” all your options? How much do you simplify…do you just decide to buy only one brand of coffee? Or do you get rid of all your things in the name of clearing clutter?

    And on and on and on….

    Lol, sorry but I couldn’t resist. “Oscar” (the name I gave the OCD personality inside my brain) immediately began asking questions.

    Ahhh…the joys.

    Reply
  • 10. Janet Singer  |  August 13, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    Wow, Sparky, “Oscar” has a lot of questions (lol). Of course I’m not a therapist, but somehow I think the answer to all your questions comes back to accepting the uncertainty of our decisions. Yes, another choice that is now gone may have been the better one, but so what? It is what it is.
    As far as how much do you simplify, I think that is such an individual answer, and also depends what your starting point is. I often imagine selling my house and living in a tent……..of course that would come with its own set of problems…….and decisions!
    Thanks to you (and Oscar) for commenting!

    Reply
    • 11. Sparky  |  August 14, 2012 at 12:13 pm

      Thank you for a great blog! I don’t often comment, but I read it loyally!

      Lol, yes…questions are my weakness, my vice, and my absolute downfall. Lovely Oscar.

      A tent!?!?! Hehee, Oscar would have me rocking in a corner!

      Reply
      • 12. Janet Singer  |  August 15, 2012 at 11:36 am

        Yeah, a tent might be a bit extreme for me as well, even without OCD!

  • 13. Roy  |  September 28, 2013 at 6:48 am

    Thank you fr the blog i came to know problem lately in my life guess thats why i m still unmarried and unable to make choice or in career

    Reply
    • 14. Janet (ocdtalk)  |  September 28, 2013 at 7:10 am

      It’s never too late to get help. I hope you do!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,302 other followers

