OCD and Reassurance

 

 

 

freedigitalphotos.net by Stuart Miles

freedigitalphotos.net by Stuart Miles

This post first appeared on January 3, 2012…

One of the most common manifestations of obsessive-compulsive disorder is the need for reassurance. “Are you sure it is okay if I do this or that?” “Are you sure nobody got (or will get) hurt?” “Are you sure something bad won’t happen?” “Are you sure, are you sure, are you sure?” While the above questions are obvious appeals, they are not the only way that OCD sufferers seek reassurance. Indeed, the very nature of OCD centers around making certain that all is well. Obsessions are always unwanted and cause varying degrees of stress and anxiety, and compulsions temporarily alleviate these feelings. Compulsions are always, in some way, shape, or form, a quest for reassurance; a way to make everything okay.

When my son Dan was dealing with severe OCD,  he was always apologizing, he couldn’t eat, he was tied to the clock, and he had many mental compulsions. Though he knew none of his thoughts or actions made any sense, he just could not stop. And therein lies one of the big problems with reassurance: It is addictive.

Psychotherapist Jon Hershfield says:

“If reassurance were a substance, it would be considered right up there with crack cocaine. One is never enough, a few makes you want more, tolerance is constantly on the rise, and withdrawal hurts. In other words, people with OCD and related conditions who compulsively seek reassurance get a quick fix, but actually worsen their discomfort in the long-term.”

So how can those with OCD “kick the habit?” It’s not easy, as sufferers continually wrestle with the feeling of incompleteness, never truly convinced that their task has been completed. There is always doubt.

But there is also always hope. Exposure Response Prevention (ERP) Therapy, as I’ve mentioned before, involves facing one’s fears and then avoiding engaging in compulsions. No reassurance allowed.  So basically the OCD sufferer is going through “withdrawal.” While it is incredibly anxiety-provoking initially, it gets easier with time. And with a lot of hard work and dedication, the addiction can be beaten.

I know I am over-simplifying things as OCD can be quite complicated, but I think it might be helpful to look at the need for reassurance in the context of addiction. It is so hard for those who do not suffer from OCD to understand why someone just can’t stop washing their hands, stop checking the stove, or stop performing other countless compulsions. Looking at the need for reassurance in this way might not only help shed some light on OCD, it can also give non-sufferers an appreciation for why treatment can be so difficult.

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to OCD and Reassurance

  1. Oh, reassurance. Yes, I CRAVED it when OCD was at its worst. I sought it from my mother, especially, when I was a teenager, and then from friends. I tried to be casual about it, like I was just asking for the sake of asking, no stake in the answers. But I hung on the reassuring words of others. I think this is not always an understood part of OCD, so things for bringing this out in the open.

  2. K B says:

    I agree with needing reassurance all the time. I am about rock bottom with my OCD right now, needing reassurance constantly and ruminating about everything. Did I touch this? Did I did touch that? I know my OCD is getting severe because my thoughts are getting VERY irrational. I realize they are irrational but my mind is going some pretty crazy places. I am starting to feel farther from reality which is frightening to me. Thanks for being an OCD advocate!!! I feel hope reading others stories.

  3. K B says:

    I would love for you to check out my blog too!

Leave a Reply

