The diagnosis…..now what?

Well, I guess we might as well start at the diagnosis, though this was by no means the beginning of Dan’s OCD. Dan  diagnosed himself  at the age of seventeen.  He told me he had known something was wrong for years, but did not know what it was. Some reading and research on the internet led him to his self-diagnosis which was right on the money.

 When he first told me he had OCD, I was shocked and not totally convinced. “But you never even wash your hands!” was one of my first comments. Wow, how little I knew about OCD!  We confirmed the diagnosis with his long time pediatrician who prescribed 10 mg of Prozac and sent him on his way,  suggesting he may want to talk with a therapist.

There was a clinical psychologist in town who was very popular with teens….it seemed as if everyone went to him. He said he could help Dan, and Dan liked him, so that’s who we went with.  I just assumed that being a clinical psychologist, he would know how to treat someone with OCD. 

 That was our FIRST BIG MISTAKE.  In retrospect, this doctor was of no help to Dan.  We should have found a therapist who specialized in treating those with OCD. We were not even aware these experts existed.

This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The diagnosis…..now what?

  1. Hey, It’s amazing how little people know about OCD, though it is clear that you know FAR more now then when you started out, naturally 🙂 I was diagnosed at the age of 6 and as I’ve said in some of my posts, unfortunately, the diagnosis stuck. I only had a chance, since it is 4:45 am here (our kid just woke up, oy) to scan your posts, but, presuming that you are still part of Dan’s life, he is very fortunate indeed to have you indeed. OCD as I’m sure you’ve learned by now, never goes away, and can in fact become worse the older an individual gets. I do not take meds for it, though I have tried various ones in the past, I have however learned to totally eliminate the underlying fears behind the compulsions and repetitive actions, so I have learned to function normally as a member of society. Again, if I can be of ANY help AT ALL, please feel free to let me know at ant time. Best of luck in all things!

    • ocdtalk says:

      Thank you! I will definitely continue to read your blog. So glad you are doing well. Dan also takes no medication now…….

    • Camille says:

      My son is a 17 year teen ,last week the psychiatric diagnose that he has a moderate OCD and suggested that he should take prosac 20 for a treatment of 6month plus a therapy cbt he is cleaning his hands multiple time and he does not allow us as parents to touch him or kiss him ,he is relating everything to school dirtiness ,we don t like as parents him to start medication ,can he cure from therapy only specially he is on the way to start his university in summer 2014
      Please I need some advise and help ,it is new for us ,can he cures from OCD ,how long it will take how we can help him
      Advise please

      • Hi Camille, I’m sorry your family is going through such a difficult time right now. The first step, in my opinion, is to find a good support system for your son. I believe you said he will be going to college in Canada, so you can check out this website: http://www.ictoc.org/ and also contact your son’s college for help in finding a good psychiatrist and therapist who specializes in ERP. As far as medication goes, it is such an individual thing, but my son has been off meds for almost five years now. Also length of recovery is variable as well. Good luck as you move forward. I know it’s overwhelming but with the right treatment there is so much hope for your son.

  2. I”ve only read two of your posts and already I’m shaking my head in agreeance!!! I’ve been there!! Through many, many therapists! I look forward to reading more!!!

  3. Martina says:

    Admiring the hard work you put into your site and detailed information you present.

    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material.

    Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

