Let’s keep talking OCD

It seems to me that there are more and more blogs out there about OCD. From first-person accounts,  to stories of family members, to blogs by mental health professionals, the word is slowly but surely getting out there.

The more the better! I feel as if we are on the cusp of changing views of OCD and other mental illnesses. And the best way to educate and inform the public is by talking (and blogging!) about OCD and our experiences as much as we can. Who knows? Maybe our blogs will even reach people who are suffering from OCD but have gone undiagnosed, or even misdiagnosed. 

And the word about OCD is getting out there on a larger scale as well. Last October 11-17 was the second annual OCD Awareness week.  As I sat in front of my computer and watched and listened to various speakers relate their experiences, I could not help marvel at how brave they all were. To share their trials, tribulations and triumphs with OCD is a gift to all of us. And that’s how I feel about the bloggers as well, especially those that deal with first-person accounts.  So brave. So helpful. So important.

On an even larger scale, check out the amazing project filmmaker Kellie Madison is undertaking. Machine Man will surely do for OCD what Rain Man did for autism…..raise awareness!

So let’s keep talking, and blogging, and making movies, and doing whatever we can to end the stigma of OCD.

Let’s all be brave!

This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let’s keep talking OCD

  1. *** feel free to not post this comment

    Janet, please keep in mind OCD is not a mental illness. It is a neurological disorder. It is not caused by psychological damage, but by neurochemicals, and is genetic. I would not normally be such a stickler, but the difference is significant in treatment and outlook. I also think everyone with true OCD deserves to know that it is not their fault, or anyone’s fault for that matter.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mental_disorder#Classifications

    • ocdtalk says:

      Not only am I posting your comment, I want to thank you for pointing out my error. As I have said from the beginning, I am not an expert on OCD, and am still learning about it myself. Of course you are right. And I totally agree with you that understanding what OCD really is is critical for correct treatment.

  2. You are so right that we all need to keep plugging forward, and help in whichever way we can from first person accounts of the disorder to family members standing by and supporting those of us with it! As a teenager OCD was never brought up to me, ever, even in the many tests and therapy sessions my family brought me to against my will. If only it was a main stream name back then as it is becoming now, who knows what could have been for me, for many of us. I think that your support of your son is exceptional, that your desire to help spread the word and find more knowledge solely to help him with his disorder is honorable! I truly enjoy reading your blog posts! And while it may technically be a disorder and not a mental illness, I know that I am not alone in the feelings that sometimes it sure as hell feels like one! And indeed, it affects my mental health all the time. 🙂 Your son is very lucky to have you in his court and I am sure he is thankful of this every day. All the best! Erin

  3. ocdtalk says:

    Thank you for your kind words, Erin. As parents we all want the best for our children, as you well know.
    Reading about your experiences as a teenager makes me feel lucky that OCD is more known now, though of course we have a long way to go.
    Yeah, I don’t think we need to get caught up so much in the semantics of disorder vs. illness………either way, OCD affects the mental health of everyone touched by it!
    Take Care……….I wish you and your family all of the best also.

Leave a Reply

