“I’m Fine.”

Dan’s OCD often revolved around his thoughts more than his actions, so we really didn’t know anything was wrong until he told us.  And even when we knew he had OCD and could see that he was spiraling downward, he would say, “Don’t worry, I’m fine.”

To this day those two words, “I’m fine,” make me cringe and stop in my tracks. Dan has been doing great for over two years now, so you would think I would have moved on, because really, he is fine. For the longest time, however, I would focus intently on his every move, action, and expression, looking for the reassurance I needed to confirm that he indeed was fine. If I had any doubts, then I would ask him how he was doing just so I could hear those two words that cause me so much anxiety.

In a wonderful post about well-meaners (her friends and OCD support system), “Bobs” gives us insight as to what it is like to be worried about constantly, and then gives us some advice of her own. If you or a loved one has OCD, it is a post well worth reading.  What rings true to me more than anything is this advice: Trust the person with OCD.

I need to remember this, because although Dan used to say he was fine when he was not fine, that was a long time ago. He has changed a lot since those dark days. He has been through treatment, and has matured. Most importantly, he knows himself and his OCD, better than anyone. If at any point he is not fine, he may not tell me, but I am confident he will do what it takes to get well.

As more time passes, I’m getting better. I no longer analyze every move, expression, or comment that Dan makes. I’ve always tried to see him as separate from his OCD, but now that takes little effort, and I often forget that he even has the disorder. I can almost hear the words “I’m fine” without cringing, because deep down I know. He is just as fine as the rest of us.

This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “I’m Fine.”

  1. I’m so glad to have stumbled upon your blog! You are a fantastic writer and bring so much light to this mental disorder. Like Dan, I also have OCD and have on numerous occasions told myself, and others, “I’m fine.” On my worst OCD days, I would actually work very hard to convince myself that I was fine. But sometimes we’re not, and we need others’ support. Realizing that I don’t have to deal with this disorder in secret, I have recently started to write about it. Feel free to visit my blog, and I will certainly be back to read more of yours.

  2. ocdtalk says:

    Thanks for the kind words. I will definitely check out your blog, and am glad to hear you are writing about your OCD.

  3. I don’t know why I haven’t made it to your blog before! It’s wonderful! It’s so interesting to read about OCD from another perspective. As a sufferer, I most definitely know all to well what it is like to again and again say, “I’m fine,” even when I’m really not. There have often been times when I have said this to friends and family when just didn’t feel comfortable enough to tell the truth. At other times, I am doing exactly what you mentioned; just as you said, “if at any point he is not fine, he may not tell me, but I am confident he will do what it takes to get well,” that is usually what I am up to even if “fine” isn’t exactly the most honest description of where I am with my OCD at a particular time. It’s a constant work in progress, and while I think it might be helpful for me to be more honest with others in my life (and myself) about the severity of my OCD, whether or not they know, I continue to work on getting better.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts and learning from your experiences!

  4. ocdtalk says:

    Thanks for your insights and kind words. I also find your blog, and other “first person” ocd blogs, invaluable. There is no question we can all learn from each others perspectives and experiences.

Leave a Reply

