Giving Thanks

Before I get too entrenched in preparing Thanksgiving dinner, I’m taking a moment to reflect on some of the many pieces of my life for which I am thankful.

In the OCD category…..

I am thankful for the many organizations, such as the IOCDF, OCD Chicago, and OCD Texas, to name a few, that educate the public about OCD, support OCD sufferers and their loved ones, work to reduce the stigma surrounding OCD, and advocate for the OCD community.

I am thankful for all of the individuals, those who are part of these organizations and those who are not, who work tirelessly to help those with OCD.

I am thankful for the professionals who specialize in treating OCD who often go above and beyond to help those suffering from this potentially devastating disorder.

I am thankful for all those with OCD who blog, write, or tell their success stories, as there is no better way to bring hope to all OCD sufferers.

I am thankful for all those with OCD who blog, write, or otherwise share their ongoing struggles, as there is no better way for us to learn what OCD is really all about.

I am thankful for the opportunity to share Dan’s story and advocate for OCD awareness, because the benefits to me have been profound.

I am thankful that my son received the proper treatment for his OCD, was courageous and determined in his fight against the disorder, and is now doing well. I know that is not always the case.

I am thankful for my husband and children and for the love and support we have given one another through this difficult journey.

I am thankful for all of my family and friends who were there for us when we needed them most. They may not have known or understood everything that was going on with Dan at the time, but that didn’t matter. They were there.

I am thankful that OCD, no matter how severe, is treatable. With the right therapist and treatment, it can be beaten.

Wishing you all a happy, healthy Thanksgiving, shared with those you love.

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Giving Thanks

  1. Tina says:

    Well said! And I am thankful for your efforts to spread the word about OCD.

  2. What a wonderful expression of gratitude. Thank you for sharing your experiences and thoughts and Dan’s story. It really does reach out to others with OCD and parents of children with OCD. It has been a blessing to me to help me better understand what my daughter is experiencing and what treatment options are available. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  3. ocdtalk says:

    Tina and Gina (hey, that rhymes 🙂 )……..a Happy Thanksgiving to both of you, and thank you also for sharing your journeys…..there is no question we can all learn from each other.

  4. 71 & Sunny says:

    Hi Janet. What a great post. Focusing on gratitude has been helpful for me and this is a really good reminder. I recognized your blog address as I’ve already been reading your blog!

  5. ocdtalk says:

    Thanks so much…..and I’ve been meaning to tell you how much I like the name of yor blog!

  6. jacqui says:

    Thank you for sharing your story and touching the lives of so many in more ways than you know.

  7. ocdtalk says:

    You’re welcome……..and thanks for your support 🙂

Leave a Reply

