Back From The Conference

Well, I arrived home after midnight last night, totally exhausted, my mind full of so much new information. My first International OCD Conference was a resounding success, and I hope to share some of what I’ve learned in some upcoming posts. The sessions I chose to attend ranged from various introductory talks regarding different aspects of OCD to advanced ones geared toward therapists and researchers. I took something valuable away from each seminar.

It was outside of these talks, however, that I learned the most. Connecting with sufferers and their loved ones, and hearing individual stories as opposed to theories, is what impacted me most. Stories of torment, heartache and loss, as well as those filled with hope, and even humor, touched me deeply. Though there were people there from all walks of life, we shared a common bond; the fight against obsessive-compulsive disorder.

As I said before, a unique aspect of this conference was the fact that it was meant for not only OCD sufferers and their loved ones, but for therapists and researchers as well. Before attending, I thought this was great, as those directly affected by OCD could connect with some therapists and update themselves on the latest research. Now that the conference is over, I believe this coming together was just as advantageous (if not more) to therapists and researchers. Those with OCD, as well as their family members, astounded me with their knowledge and insight, and their input in the sessions for researchers and therapists was invaluable.

I was also thrilled to see so many children and teens at the conference, because this means they are likely receiving early treatment for their OCD. At the very least, they, and their families, know they are dealing with obsessive-compulsive disorder and that treatment is available.

I have to admit that after two and a half days of “non-stop OCD,” I was overwhelmed. I told my husband I needed a break from OCD, and then, of course, it hit me. I have that choice. If I want to stop dealing with OCD for a while, I can easily do so. Those who are fighting it day in and day out, however, do not have that option. I’ve mentioned before that those with OCD are some of the bravest people I know, and I’m honored to join in the fight against this insidious disorder.

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Back From The Conference

  1. Tina Barbour says:

    I’ll look forward to learning more about your experiences/learning!

  2. krystallynn says:

    Thanks for going .. love having you in our corner! Can’t wait to hear more.

  3. 71º & Sunny says:

    Glad you made it home safe and sound! So glad I met you. Yep, I know what you mean – yesterday I told my husband I was OCD’d out. But I had support group tonight, so back to OCD land I went! ha ha I’m so glad I went to the conference. Really amazing. Looking forward to hearing what you got out of the conference.

    • ocdtalk says:

      The trip home was easy, Sunny. We just had a late flight. Hope your travels were uneventful too. So great meeting you also. It was amazing, wasn’t it? Looking forward to next year’s already!

      • Lolly says:

        I agree, totally amazing! Loved being there and meeting both of you. I have yet to post on my blog as I agree with the “OCD’d out” statement! I slept all day today and back to work tomorrow I go. Already planning out Atlanta in my head!

  4. ocdtalk says:

    Hi Lolly, I hope you’re all rested after your trip home. It was so great to meet and talk with you…..Atlanta will be here before we know it!

  5. LISA DOUGLAS says:

    Reblogged this on OCD Kids and commented:
    Alexandra, Michael and I had such an amazing experience attending the convention in Chicago! I learned so much, my head is still spinning, thinking, analyzing, empathizing and planning for next years Annual IOCDF Convention in Atlanta!
    After corresponding for so long over the internet, Janet and I were FINALLY able to meet during the convention. I was honored to be in the company of such a highly respected and dedicated OCD advocate and fellow adoring mother to an OCD sufferer. She, like I, are committed to raising OCD awareness the world over, one step at a time!

  6. LISA DOUGLAS says:

    Janet, you are so right about being OCD’d out & being able to simply walk away…as all those who attended the conference not suffering from OCD were able to do. I hate this insidious OCD monster. Even those, like me, with ‘minor’ OCD (& substantial Hyper-Focus ADHD), need a break sometime/anytime! We all must ‘play the hands we are dealt’ the best we are able, right?

Leave a Reply

