Ocdtalk’s 100th post!

When I started blogging, I had few expectations; I only knew I had thoughts and stories I wanted to share that I felt could benefit others. I had only read one blog in my life, felt thoroughly incompetent, but decided to jump right in anyway. I looked at it as a bit of an adventure (I say “bit of” as, in the back of my mind, I knew I could just walk away from it at any time, so it wasn’t like a real adventure).

Now, the idea of walking away from ocdtalk seems almost as ludicrous as walking away from my family.

What I didn’t realize then that is so obvious now, is that blogging involves a community; a group of people who support you, inspire you, and motivate you. I am so fortunate to be part of  an extraordinary community of bloggers: genuine, caring people who all put themselves “out there” in different ways; all with the goal of helping others. This blogging community consists of OCD sufferers and their families and friends, those who suffer from other mental health disorders, and professionals who deal with OCD and/or other mental health issues. I particularly appreciate hearing from people who have no connection to OCD, but believe it’s important to understand the disorder.

My original goals for ocdtalk have never changed. I want to increase awareness of obsessive-compulsive disorder and spread the word that OCD, no matter how severe, is treatable. Whether you are a “regular,” or have just stopped by once or twice in your Internet travels, I’d like to thank you for helping me achieve these goals.

Ocdtalk has been such a rewarding experience so far, and I look forward to many more posts. That being said, I am always open to suggestions as to how I can improve my blog. One thing I plan on starting up (as early as next week!) is to occasionally have guest bloggers. Stay tuned for more info on that.

Thanks again to everyone!

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ocdtalk’s 100th post!

  1. 71º & Sunny says:

    Congratulations, Janet! What a great milestone. As someone who lives with OCD, I thank you from the bottom of my heart for advocating for us. We are so blessed to have you in our corner! Here’s to another 100 posts. : )

  2. Lolly says:

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Yay, 100! Congratulations, Janet, and thank you for all you do with your blog to raise awareness and help us all understand OCD better.

  4. ocdtalk says:

    You’re welcome, Tina…..and THANK YOU as well!

  5. Marie says:

    Thank-you. My son has OCD and it helps to know how others deal with this condition. It is so much more than washing hands too much. Thank-you also to the links to other helpful sites.

  6. ocdtalk says:

    You’re welcome, Marie. I’m glad you find the blog and links helpful. I hope your son is doing well.

  7. krystallynn says:

    Congrat’s Janet….I am sorry that your son, and consequently your family, went through the nightmare of OCD but your writing and blog has is a wonderful way to turn something rotten into “purposeful” and give us the hope and support we need.

  8. ocdsurvivor says:

    Congratulations! And thank you so much for sharing, I’ve loved reading your posts!

  9. ocd8 says:

    Congratulations on this achievement! I have been following your blog for a few months now and I am very impressed with the various posts, the content and information provided but what makes your blog so special is your passion to make people aware of OCD. Keep up the wonderful work!

  10. ocdtalk says:

    Thank you so much for your kind words and support. It really means a lot to me!

  11. A says:

    I am so grateful for people like you who share their stories and link so many other helpful sites to their blog. Thanks Janet. x

Leave a Reply

