OCD Research Study

pillsIf you are currently on medication to treat obsessive-compulsive disorder, you may be eligible to participate in a new study sponsored by the NIMH.  Basically, the purpose of the study is to determine if participants benefit from adding Exposure Response Prevention (ERP) Therapy to their existing SRI medication, as well as finding out whether they can then maintain these gains after discontinuing their SRI.

Participants will remain on their current medication and take part in a maximum of twenty-five sessions of ERP Therapy. If there is a substantial reduction in their OCD symptoms after this period, they will then be randomly selected either to have their medication replaced gradually with a placebo, or continue taking their medications. Monitoring of all participants will continue for six months.

I think this is a wonderful opportunity to receive ERP Therapy from some top-notch professionals, as well as be part of a study that is likely to benefit many people. If you’ve undergone ERP Therapy in the past, you may still be eligible.

I’d like to send a big “thank you” to Dr. Seth Gillihan who was kind enough to let me know that recruiting has now begun. If you are interested in learning more, please visit the research study’s comprehensive website, which gives detailed information regarding the study, as well as contact information.

I’m excited this study is underway, and look forward to the results!

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to OCD Research Study

  1. Tina Barbour says:

    This sounds like it will be a study with very helpful results. I may check it out, but frankly, I’d be a little afraid of being chosen to stop taking my meds, since it also treats the depression.

    Thank you for telling us about this, and I will look forward to the results, too!

    • ocdtalk says:

      Thanks for the comment, Tina. My guess is that potential participants will be screened carefully for comorbid conditions. Yes, the results will be interesting!

  2. 71º & Sunny says:

    Thanks for passing this along! What a neat opportunity for a lot of people who might not otherwise be able to get ERP!

  3. SolarClathrate says:

    Thank you so much for posting about this. I will call them tomorrow and see if I qualify. I have wanted to begin ERP for some time and participating in a study would certainly make it easier to motivate myself.

  4. aruna says:

    I am willing to participate but I am in India. Can you please advise

    • ocdtalk says:

      Hi Aruna, You can certainly contact the treatment team to discuss your situation. From what I understand, therapy will take place in New York or Philadelphia, so I assume you would need to relocate for that time period. But I am not directly involved in the study, so I don’t know for sure. Good luck!

  5. My son is considering meds after 3 years of intense OCD. He has benefitted greatly from excellent ERP treatment, but is still struggling and is ready to explore this option.

    I know some folks have had very negative experiences with meds. Has anyone found them helpful and which drugs in particular?

    I’d appreciate any help and advice! Thank you!

    • ocdtalk says:

      Hi Dominique, Certainly there are those who have been helped by meds. As far as which drugs are helpful, I think that really has to be worked out between your son and his doctors. It is such an individual thing. What works for one person can be totally ineffective for somebody else. I think the main thing is that you and your son have health care professionals who you trust and who will monitor him closely should he decide to try meds. Good Luck!

  6. I would be so excited to take part in this if I lived in the area. I did live and work in Philly about 6 years ago so it makes me sad that I would miss the boat by being in Iowa.. Living where I do, I have a psychiatrist that prescribes meds only and ERP is like foreign to them.

    • ocdtalk says:

      Oh, I’m sad you can’t take part in this study also. It’s disheartening that there are no ERP therapists near you….we need to keep working to change that.

  7. We don’t use drugs for our daughter but she does do the ERP therapy and it has been a real blessing to her and our family. We found an excellent therapist here in Charlotte that bonded well with my daughter and that made a big difference.

  8. ocdtalk says:

    How fortunate you are to have found an excellent therapist who has bonded with your daughter, Donald. I agree that can make all the difference in the world!

Leave a Reply

