Speaking Out at Beyond OCD

For anyone who is interested…

Here’s the link to my latest post on Beyond OCD’s Connections Blog:

http://beyondocd.org/blog/post/speak-out

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Speaking Out at Beyond OCD

  1. Tina Barbour says:

    Thank you for sharing this link, Janet. Great call to action! I feel like I need to speak up more in my day-to-day life. It’s easier for me to write about it than to talk about it, but I need to do both.

  2. I know what you mean, Tina. I feel the same way!

  3. 71º & Sunny says:

    Truly brilliant article, Janet! I really loved it. I am really, really trying to be vocal in my life about OCD. When I was very ill, I would never have been able to do this, but at this point in my recovery I am much stronger. Because of how well I am doing now, I almost feel a bit of a responsibility to speak out, because I remember what it was like to be so sick that I couldn’t speak for myself. I try to put myself in the place of all of those who are sadly still in that position and that gives me the strength to talk about these things with others. But, it still can be hard! However, like you, I usually get a pretty good response from people. Surprisingly so. On behalf of the OCD community, I really want to thank you for fighting so hard for us.

    • I feel the same way, Sunny. I remember what my son went through and am so thankful he is doing well that I want to do what I can to help those who are really suffering now with OCD. As you say, it isn’t easy, but I find the more I speak out, the easier it does become. Thanks for your kind words!

  4. jik says:

    hello great post yes its really not cute disorder coz the feeling of having these disorder is really not cute if I only have a magic to remove it I would have done so from day one. but looking on the positive side of these ocd we are all here meeting new friends who have the same xperiences knowing that we all can relate to each other and I noticed too that these disorder made me humble and to keep in mind to always do good to other people even if ocd part of me I’ll just accept but keep on fighting or managing these disorder.

    Janet I had a post on ur blog prior to this , about ocd,friends,isolation

  5. The Hook says:

    You should be very proud of the good work you’re doing, my friend.

  6. Thanks, Hook. Your support is truly appreciated!

  7. Ellen Sawyer says:

    Thanks!!!

    Ellen Sawyer Executive Director Beyond OCD 773-661-9530 http://www.beyondocd.org/ http://www.ocdeducationstation.org/

Leave a Reply

