OCD Book Festival 2013

booksTwo years ago,  I blogged about my experience at the OCD Texas Conference in Austin. I am honored, once again, to have been invited to speak at this year’s OCD Texas Conference, located in San Antonio. Held in conjunction with International OCD Awareness Week (October 14- 20, 2013), this year’s gathering promises to be a truly special event. One of the most exciting features of the upcoming conference is the introduction of The OCD Book Festival, whose purpose is to raise awareness about OCD and related disorders as well as to educate the public and professionals.

For me, personally, this event will be especially exciting because I will be reading from my recently completed book, Continue On: A mother’s account of what hurt and what helped in her son’s recovery from severe OCD.

If you follow my blog, you likely know that my son Dan suffered from OCD so severe he couldn’t eat, and our family subsequently floundered and fought our way through a disorienting maze of treatments and programs, desperately trying to find the right help for our son. My book is a memoir of these years, culminating in Dan’s remarkable recovery .

I am fortunate to be collaborating with Dr. Seth Gillihan, who provides insightful, often eye-opening, commentary throughout the book. So in addition to being a story of triumph, hope, and the power of family, Continue On is also a useful guide for all those whose lives have been touched by OCD. Dr. Gillihan is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Pennsylvania, Department of Psychiatry, and specializes in cognitive-behavioral treatment for anxiety and depression and related conditions. We are currently seeking suitable representation.

I encourage everyone to check out everything this amazing book festival has to offer (Continue On is listed in the “Shorts” category, as it has not yet been published). Be sure to take a look at the authors’ bios as well.

I’m excited about this wonderful opportunity to be part of the OCD Texas Conference once again, and am looking forward to sharing my story.


This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to OCD Book Festival 2013

  1. time2cher says:

    Janet, how exciting for you! I think it is wonderful that you will be telling your story at the festival and getting it in print. I haven’t commented much lately as I have been focused on my daughter’s OCD and helping her through her days. I must say though, they have gotten easier since she had the opportunity to work with Dr. Gillihan personally and push through some ERP therapy this summer. He has given her new hope and the proper tools to use with her OCD. She is in a much better place because of him and we can’t praise him enough for how he has helped her and helped us as a family.
    I so look forward to your book as I can only imagine it will be so insightful and helpful to all with the two of you collaborating together.
    Thank you for putting it all out there! I can’t wait to read it!! Good luck:)

    • Great to hear from you, time2cher, and I appreciate your support and kind words. I’m so glad Dr. Gillihan has given your daughter new hope. That’s one of our main goals in writing this book: to educate others about OCD and give them hope. No matter how severe, OCD is treatable.

  2. Tom says:

    Well done! Good for you. Pains me to say it but I wish my mum had been more like you… Am looking forward to buying my copy when the book comes out.

  3. Deb says:

    Janet, Congratulations on your book and for your invitation to the conference. I wish I lived closer to Texas so I could attend. I read the excerpt from your book and again felt such a connection to what you went through. I know the “tightening of the stomach” that you talked about very well. Every symptom Matt had in the beginning made me feel like I had just been punched in the stomach. Now either he is better than he was ….or I am just getting used to it. I actually think he is a bit better or at least he is more willing to bend and fight his fears than he was before.
    Is there anyway to see a video of the conference or of your talk? I would love to see it. Also where can I get a copy of your book for Matt to read? I think that the similarities he and Dan have along with Dan’s continued success will really inspire Matt to keep fighting.
    🙂
    Deb

    • Hi Deb, Thanks so much for your support, and I’m glad Matt is fighting his OCD. I’m not sure if they videotape the conference but that’s a good question and I will definitely ask. As far as getting a copy of the book, I am still seeking a publisher so the book is not in print yet. I will certainly keep you posted as things progress!

  4. 71 & Sunny says:

    Oh I soooo wish I could hear you speak at the conference! Maybe one of these days they will invite you to speak at the IOCDF conf.

    Hope you find a publisher real soon. This information needs to get out.

  5. So exciting, Janet! Will you be going the traditional route of querying agents?

  6. I’m so excited for you, Janet! I didn’t realize you were working on a book, and I hope you find a publisher soon. You have such an important story to share. I can’t wait to read it!

  7. nrkellner says:

    Not yet published, but I know it will be. Too important not to be.

  8. Tom says:

    Hi Janet. Here is an excellent article by a Pure O sufferer that some of your followers might like to read. It was the cover story in the magazine section of one of the UK’s biggest newspapers. Best wishes, Tom.

    • Thanks so much for sharing that article, Tom! I think it does an excellent job of describing Pure O and the torment that comes along with it. How heartbreaking that the author, after diagnosing herself, still had such a hard time finding proper treatment. So many therapists still do not know how to treat OCD.

Leave a Reply

