Overcoming OCD: A Journey to Recovery

by jannoon028 freedigitalphotos.net

by jannoon028
freedigitalphotos.net

This past fall I wrote about my newly completed book being included in The OCD Book Festival in San Antonio, Texas. While its name has changed, the story and message have not, and I am happy to announce that Overcoming OCD: A Journey to Recovery will be published by Rowman & Littlefield in January of 2015. I have added a “My Book” tab at the top of my blog for the purpose of keeping everyone updated as the publication date approaches.

Aside from being a memoir which recounts my son Dan’s journey through severe OCD, Overcoming OCD: A Journey to Recovery has expert commentary interwoven throughout by Seth Gillihan, PhD. Those of you who follow my blog might be familiar with Seth’s guest post written in September 2012: Mental Rituals, OCD, and ERP. This post has received more comments than any other entry on ocdtalk.

Because of this collaboration with Seth, the book is not only a memoir, but also a useful guide for all those whose lives have been affected by obsessive-compulsive disorder. My goals in writing this book have been the same as my goals in writing this blog: To spread the word that OCD, no matter how severe, is treatable, and Exposure and Response Prevention (ERP) therapy is the treatment of choice for the disorder. While I have many people to thank on the road to publication, I’d like to take the opportunity now to thank YOU, my readers, for your support of my blog and what it stands for. I am grateful that so many of you have chosen to share your struggles and triumphs with me, and am inspired daily by your strength.

OCD can be a relentless, insidious disorder, with the potential to destroy lives. It is my hope that Overcoming OCD: A Journey to Recovery will educate OCD sufferers and their loved ones, and encourage them to fight this horrible illness, so they can live their lives as they choose, and not as OCD demands.

 

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Overcoming OCD: A Journey to Recovery

  1. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you, Janet. I’ve got a big smile on my face for you. 🙂 I cannot wait to read your book. And thank YOU for what you do to advocate for those with OCD. You could have so easily just “kept it in the family.” But you have reached out and tried to help others, and I admire and respect that so much.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Tina, and I admire and respect you for the same reason. The “tough stuff” isn’t always easy to talk about, but sharing can help so many people.

  2. karin says:

    Congratulations!

  3. grannyK says:

    Congrats on the book! I have very much enjoyed this blog.

  4. June says:

    I am sooo looking forward to you book! Where can I order a signed copy? I look forward to your blog every weekend. It’s a wonderful thing you do. Thank you.

    • Thanks so much for your support, June. That’s a good question, you ask! I plan on doing some book signings and talks once the book is published, but I will ask my publisher about ordering signed copies. Stay tuned!

  5. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  6. Good luck with the book, Janet; it deserves every success and I’m sure it will help many, many people.

  7. kcg1974 says:

    So proud of you. Congratulations! Such help to so many….

  8. I’m very excited to be a part of this work, Janet. I re-posted on my blog, as well: http://sethgillihan.com/new-book-overcoming-ocd/. Thank you for the life-changing work you do.

  9. Congrats on your book getting published! Looking forward to reading it.

  10. Cannot wait to read this!

  11. Congratulations. It’s a great feeling to have a publisher say YES, isn’t it? The validation is such a gift. Best of luck to you.

  12. Congratulations, Janet! That’s great news.

  13. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

    OCD takes over a person’s life and they are only along for the ride. I think you book will be very successful.

  14. Brenda says:

    Can’t wait to read your book!!
    Thanks for being such a caring, sensitive,advocate that you truly are—-you help more than you know!!

  15. 71º & Sunny says:

    Oh I’m SOOOO excited for you Janet, and I cannot wait to read it. Congratulations!

  16. Janet, This is awesome!!!!!! I am so excited for you. I know that your book will touch and help many, many people with OCD and their families! Hooray! – Angie

  17. dara says:

    Thank you so much Janet, I will be buying a copy of this book for every one of my family members, including my sister who has chronic OCD for the past 20 years. I am at my wits end with her and am seriously considering cutting her out of my life (for my own sanity!) as she still won’t seek help and the rest of my family has enabled her for so long they truly believe OCD cannot be cured. OCD has conquered my entire family, except for me, I’m still trying, pushing and believing she can have a better quality of life. I don’t know what to do anymore. I don’t want to lose my sister but I also feel like I lost her 20 years ago now..it’s such a terrible disease..but all the very best of success with your book and with your son!

    • Hi Dara, I am so sorry to hear of your sister’s (and your) ordeal with OCD. It is so frustrating to know, as you do, that there is treatment for something your loved on is suffering from, yet not have them pursue it. You sound like an amazing sister, and I truly hope you can get through to her and the rest of your family. I assume she (and they?) have refused to even see a therapist? Maybe if an “expert” were able to explain OCD and its treatment to them, that might help. I’m guessing this is something you have already suggested. Good luck to you and your whole family, and thank you so much for all your kind wishes.

      • dara says:

        Hi Janet..yes I have suggested many many times that she see a professional, seek out a support group with people who also suffer from OCD and go on medication but with no success. She doesn’t want to know anybody else with OCD, she has convinced herself this is a life condition and she refuses medication. It’s like hitting your head against a brick wall, there is NO reasoning with this disease as I’m sure you know all too well. I look forward to this book release and I hope it opens up the eyes of my entire family. All the best x

  18. I hope you and your find family find the book helpful too, Dara. Your sister is lucky to have you fighting for her!

Leave a Reply

