Overcoming OCD – An Update

Well, here it is! I’m pleased with how the cover of Overcoming OCD: A Journey to Recovery turned out, and hope you all like it too.

Our publication date of January 16, 2015 is less than four months away! Seth and I are now completely done with the book and it is in the hands of our publisher. Our current focus is to spread the word about it, so that we can reach, and hopefully help, as many people as possible.

One way to accomplish this goal of making the book available to everyone who might benefit from it is by approaching librarians and asking them to consider ordering the book from our publisher. If you frequent your local library (and even if you don’t) and feel that Overcoming OCD: A Journey to Recovery might be an important addition to its inventory, I would so appreciate it if you could request that it be ordered. From what I understand, librarians do listen to what the public wants, and even appreciate recommendations.

One more exciting thing to report is that we will be having a Book Launch event on February 28, 2015 from 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm at Tatnuck Booksellers in Westborough, Massachusetts. If you live within driving distance, or are adventurous and willing to travel to New England in the dead of winter, I would love to see you there! I anticipate that Seth and I will both speak and I will read from the book as well. We will also do book signings. It should be a great afternoon, so please mark the date on your calendars if there is any chance you can make it! Of course I will be updating everyone as the date approaches.

Another reminder: If you pre-order the book here by  January 30, 2016, you can save some money. Use the promotion code 4S15OCDBK at checkout for 30% off! This promotion  cannot be combined with other promo or discount offers.

Thank you again to all of you for your support and encouragement on the road to publication. We are almost there!

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Overcoming OCD – An Update

  1. grannyK says:

    Wonderful cover, and congrats on being published.

  2. I will be sure to recommend to my library!

    Congratulations!

  3. Reblogged this on Pride in Madness and commented:
    Be sure to check it out!!

  4. Ruby Tuesday says:

    This is so wonderful, Janet! I can think of few things I would like so well as coming to Massachusetts in the dead of winter to meet and congratulate you — no, really! — my adventurousness will have to depend on my pocketbook though, so we shall see.

    In any case I am inexpressibly proud of you and the work you’re doing. Sending all my best to you and yours! ♡

  5. I like that cover! And congrats for reaching this exciting point! It must feel so good to have the book in the hands of the publisher now. I am so proud of you and so impressed by the work that you do advocating for OCDers. I plan on talking to the librarian here, and I will be spreading the word!

  6. Ann says:

    So exciting! Looking forward to reading it.

  7. Nancy says:

    I wanted to say thanks for the last post about OCD and school. I passed it along to our school psychologist who LOVED the links to the web site.

  8. 71 & Sunny says:

    Oh Janet I am SO proud of you and so excited for you! I will absolutely pre-order, and I’m really going to try to make the book launch event. Cannot wait to read it!

    In the acting world, we wish other actors good luck by saying “break a leg!” I don’t know what the writers’ equivalent is, but, “break a leg!”

    • Thank you so much for your ongoing support and encouragement, Sunny! It would be amazing if you could come to the book launch! I’m not sure what the equivalent of “break a leg” is for a writer either, but I know what you mean, so thank you :)!

  9. To be honest the cover is really good. I would love to include this in my library. As we all know the road to recovery is never easy, i hope this provide valuable information to walk on. Thanks for sharing.

  10. nrkellner says:

    So exciting to see all your hard work come to fruition! Already have the Tatnuck date in my calendar and book is on order. I’ll share on my Facebook page as well.

  11. CONGRATULATIONS! What a great accomplishment. I will request it from my Cincy library (oops, still haven’t replace my library card stolen in the mugging – must do that FIRST — grrrrr).

    REMIND me when the book comes out (via a comment and a “live” link to your announcement in a comment following the first article you find – we play fast and loose with “related” in ADD-land ;). I will not only approve it post haste, I will let my readership know the book is available as quickly as I can type (and publish) a quick post about it.

    Since much of my readership has ADD, advanced notice won’t get you where you want to go — too many new things to push it off their cognitive “facebook wall” LOL!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

Leave a Reply

