Raising Awareness of OCD

 I'm Blogging for Mental Health 2015.

Today is Mental Health Month Blog Day, and I’d like to share a couple of  things with you:

First, Seth and I were recently interviewed on Voice of America’s One Hour At A Time.  If you’re interested you can listen to the podcast here.

Also, Ellen, over at Ellen’s OCD Blog, created this short video called Ritualise. I think she did a great job, and I hope you’ll check it out.

These are just two of the many examples out there of people working hard to get the truth out about OCD!

 

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Raising Awareness of OCD

  1. susie says:

    hello I am a nana to 9 yr old grandson who is getting treatment for his OCD..Your sight has helped us learn the “gold standard” treatments,..Tha ks sooo much. I have one question.The new therapist wants to put him on high does of amino acids to see if this helps him.What id any information do you have on the topic of amino acids for children? Thanks and God Bless you. nana B

    • Hi Susie,
      Thanks for your email and I’m glad to hear your grandson is getting help for his OCD at a young age. It’s so interesting that you ask about amino acids, as I’m planning on writing a post about that topic in the near future. I haven’t heard from anyone first hand about benefits of taking amino acids, but have read that there are studies that have shown them to be somewhat helpful, without the side-effects of medication. What that actually means, I’m not really sure at this point. I would suggest getting as much information as you can from the therapist and then make an informed decision. Please keep me posted!

  2. Shepard, Kathy says:

    Hi Janet,
    I am working my way thru a very similar situation to you with my 16 year old son. Your book gave me hope.
    I would like to know the residential program that you were unhappy with. There are very few, and I don’t want to send my son there.
    I would also like to raise awareness of Renewed Freedom Center in LA. They are an IOP program. They were able to take my son when none of the residential programs could. They have been a God send. My son built relationships and trust with them, and family was such an integral part of treatment. They should be on your radar.
    Thank you for the encouragement to keep fighting.
    Kathy

    Sent from my iPad

    • Hi Kathy, Thanks for your kind words and I’m glad you found my book helpful. I don’t typically divulge where my son was but you can email me at ocdtalk@yahoo.com if you’d like to get more info.
      I took a brief look at the Renewed Freedom Center in LA website. I was not familiar with it at all. Do they use ERP there? I saw they mention CBT but didn’t see ERP mentioned specifically. I’d like to learn more about them.
      Good luck as your son continues to fight his OCD. There is so much hope for his recovery!

Leave a Reply

