OCD Thoughts or Just Thoughts?

salvatore vuono freedigitalphotos.net

salvatore vuono
freedigitalphotos.net

Obsessions, in relation to OCD, are defined on the IOCDF website as “thoughts, images or impulses that occur over and over again and feel outside of the person’s control.” Those with OCD are often so tormented by their obsessions that they feel intense fear and anxiety which might even result in panic attacks.

So what are these obsessions? Certainly they must be so horrible that we shouldn’t even speak of them? To elicit such an intense response from someone, these thoughts must be ones we’d all find shocking and deeply disturbing, right?

Well, no. Turns out the obsessions of those with OCD typically arise from the same types of thoughts most of us routinely have. As a new mom over thirty years ago, I’d have fleeting thoughts of dropping my baby down the stairs, or letting her roll off the changing table. I remember being somewhat puzzled by these thoughts, because I of course loved my daughter and wanted nothing more than to care for her and keep her safe. So I shrugged them off and went about my life. I could come up with more of my own examples, but my guess is most of you can likely relate to having these types of thoughts; the kind that just pop into your head, or float by, and make you think, “Where did THAT come from?” Thoughts that might be momentarily upsetting because they represent the exact opposite of who you are and what you believe in.

So why do these thoughts affect those with OCD more deeply? Are they just being drama queens?

No, that’s not it at all. They affect those with OCD more deeply because, well, they have OCD. Even though those with obsessive-compulsive disorder typically realize their intrusive thoughts don’t make any sense, it doesn’t matter. The obsessions are usually frequent and exceptionally vivid, and can seem very real in the moment. The result is those with untreated OCD get caught up in extreme anxiety that impedes day-to-day functioning.

Does it make sense? Of course not. But that’s OCD. Add some thought-action fusion and a heaping scoop of uncertainty to that intense anxiety, and you will likely end up with someone who is performing compulsions to get a feeling of completeness, reduce anxiety, and/or make sure everything will be “all right.” The vicious cycle of OCD has begun.

If you have OCD and you’ve been putting off getting help because you’re too afraid or embarrassed to tell a therapist about your obsessions, that’s really not a good excuse. Chances are your therapist, like the rest of us, has those same thoughts, or similar ones, every now and then. Maybe not as intensely as you’ve had them, but with similar content. Because when you get right down to it, there’s OCD, and there are thoughts, but there are no OCD thoughts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to OCD Thoughts or Just Thoughts?

  1. grannyK says:

    Oh the thought of dropping a baby is terrifying! With each of my kids, it was a real fear. I would constantly be aware of how I was holding them because there were nagging thoughts of forgetting I was holding my baby and just letting them fall. I cannot tell you how relieved I am that I was not the only one to think this. At the time, I thought I was evil or secretly (even to myself) hated my babies because I thought these thoughts. Thank you for bringing so much info into the open. It truly can help someone.

    • Thanks for sharing, grannyK. As I understand it, this thought is quite common. Too bad you didn’t know it back then, but as you say, maybe someone else can be helped by all of our sharing,

  2. Tina Barbour says:

    Hi, Janet! It’s good to be back reading your blog! I have missed you. I hate the obsessive thoughts. Now I recognize them almost right away, but I still feel the accompanying anxiety. The good thing is that I know where the thoughts are coming from and I can more easily just push them aside.

  3. tracy296 says:

    Your last sentence really connected with me. I love how you explained that!

  4. anna986 says:

    Will never forget those days… A helpline has put me on the right path 🙂

Leave a Reply

