Happy Thanksgiving!

by vectorolie freedigitalphotos.net

by vectorolie freedigitalphotos.net

Thanksgiving has always been my favorite holiday. In addition to spending time with my family, I’ve just always loved the idea of a day set aside to be thankful for all that we have. Mindfulness at its best!

I’m so thankful that my son Dan continues to do well, six years after severe OCD completely debilitated him. This year I am especially thankful that Overcoming OCD: A Journey to Recovery was published, as I’ve heard from so many people who have found Dan’s story inspirational, and Seth Gillihan’s commentary helpful and informative. There truly is hope for all those who suffer from obsessive-compulsive disorder.

But we have so much work left to do. Obsessive-compulsive disorder is still widely misrepresented and misunderstood. Many people are not even aware of exposure and response prevention (ERP) therapy, the first line psychological treatment for OCD as recommended by the American Psychological Association. We still have a shortage of qualified treatment providers and a lack of adequate healthcare coverage. The list goes on.

There is hope however. In last year’s Thanksgiving post, I announced that Rogers Behavioral Health System planned to open new OCD and anxiety treatment centers in Chicago and Nashville. Not only are both of these clinics now open, there are now plans for another facility in Minneapolis, Minnesota. As in Chicago and Nashville, partial hospitalization and intensive outpatient programs for children, teens and adults will be offered there.

I am thankful for the creation of these top-notch programs throughout the country. I am thankful for all the dedicated professionals who work so hard to help those who are suffering from OCD. I am thankful to you, all of my readers, who in many very different ways, advocate for OCD awareness, education, and understanding. Whether you have OCD, love someone with the disorder, are a professional who treats OCD, or are just someone who cares – THANK YOU!

Together we can continue to make a difference.

Wishing everyone a Happy Thanksgiving, surrounded by those you love.

 

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Anne says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Janet! We celebrated our Thanksgiving in Canada in October and I gave thanks for discovering your blog, your book and Seth Gillihan. We (my daughter and my family)have come a long way in the past year and much of that can be attributed to you and Seth. You are doing great work here and for that I am truly grateful. Anne

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Anne. You made my day! I am so happy to hear your daughter is going in the right direction. I wish you and your family all the best and hope to hear from you again!

Leave a Reply

