Ocdtalk – The State of the Blog

by iosphere freedigitalphotos.net

by iosphere freedigitalphotos.net

As we settle into a new year, I, like many others, have been taking stock of various aspects of my life. This blog has been an integral part of my identity for over five years now, and it has grown immensely and opened up opportunities beyond my wildest dreams. For that I am grateful.

My main goal from the onset of the blog has been to spread the word that obsessive-compulsive disorder, no matter how severe, is treatable, and the first-line psychological approach to treat OCD is exposure and response prevention (ERP) therapy. Five years later, my goal remains the same.

I hope this doesn’t sound like a good-bye post, because it’s not. In fact, I plan on continuing to post weekly, just as I have always done. However, because of time constraints, a lot of my posts will be reblogs of older, though still relevant, entries; I will plan to write new material at least once a month.

This has been an amazing year filled with interviews and speaking opportunities, mostly generated by the publication of my book, Overcoming OCD: A Journey to Recovery. I’m fortunate to have had so many worthwhile opportunities to advocate for OCD awareness, and I hope they continue in 2016. I’d like to branch out and speak at schools and parent meetings, and have other ideas how to best get the truth out about obsessive-compulsive disorder.

The amazing people I’ve met, both virtually and in person, are what spur me on. Thank you all for your continued support of ocdtalk, and I look forward to a 2016 where all those dealing with OCD will choose to work toward recovery and have qualified ERP therapists waiting for them. One can dream!

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ocdtalk – The State of the Blog

  1. Lorre Mendelson says:

    Thank you so much for your email, Janet and good look in wherever your path leads you, fondly, Lorre Mendelson

  2. Hi Janet 🙂

    I did not discover this blog until perhaps 18 months ago, so I have some catching up to do! I also have your book. I just want to say THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart for all you do! As long as your passion to increase OCD awareness motivates you to do so, GO FOR IT! 😀 You know far better than I how much more work needs to be done. I’ve mentioned before that I have been fighting OCD for over 25 years, and was fortunate to get proper ERP and medication treatment from day one. Sadly, despite that, OCD has taken my marriage and my career from me. It’s tough for me to share that, but it needs to be shared because my life is just one more example of how much more work needs to be done to defeat this terrible disease. My case is severe and I expect my battle to continue for life. Thanks to amazing support from my family, doctors, and friends the quality of my life is tolerable, but it is nowhere near “good.” So as long as “the spirit moves you,” follow your instincts and use your considerable talent to spread the word and fight for a cure. Thanks again for all you do! Blessings, -Paul

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Paul. They are much appreciated. Your comment serves as a reminder as to how severe OCD can be and how it can negatively impact lives. You are so right – there is so much work left to be done.
      I’m so glad you are continuing to fight your OCD and I have hope that you will continue to improve and achieve a better quality of life. I am rooting for you!

  3. Good update! You’re such a blessing to our community, Janet!!

  4. Thank you, Janet, for sharing your experiences and your wisdom! You do an amazing service for many, many people affected by OCD.

  5. You’re a great mom. I had diagnosed OCD in high school and all my parents told me to do was suck it up, pay attention to something else, or stop worrying. They didn’t want to take me to the therapist because in the Asian culture you don’t tell anyone your problems outside of the family, and they distrust medications to help with mental illness. I wish you the best with your and your son!

    • I’m so sorry you didn’t get the support you needed and deserved when you were in high school, but I hope things are better for you now. I wish you all the best as well and thank you for such kind words!

  6. Anne says:

    Hi Janet,
    I am so grateful for this blog and for all the insights you have shared here. When I discovered your blog a year ago I read the whole thing from start to finish over two days. Your information is so valuable and re-postings of those entries will provide a great service to this community. Thank you for starting your blog and for your continuous efforts to get the word out regarding ERP therapy. We are one family you have helped immensely and I am sure there are countless others. I hope you have a wonderful year! Anne

  7. Lynn says:

    Janet,
    I just want to add my thanks to everyone else’s. Your blog comforted me many, many times over the tough years when my son struggled mightily with his ocd, his social anxiety, and the depression that unfortunately was exacerbated by the medications he was on. I’m so happy to say that he is doing much better–after some community college, he is off on his own in another state, enjoying college and the freedom and independence he longed for. It has been so helpful to have the support and understanding of another mom. Best wishes for the new year! Lynn

    • So nice to hear from you Lynn, and I’m thrilled to hear your son is doing so well! Thank you so much for your kind words – I’m glad you felt I was helpful during those tough times. I hope it’s a great year for your family too!

Leave a Reply

