OCD and Support for Caregivers

by Idea go freedigitalphotos.net

by Idea go freedigitalphotos.net

As many of you know, I’ve written a book about my son’s journey through severe OCD. As a result, I’ve had speaking engagements and interviews where I’ve enjoyed meeting people and discussing different aspects of the book. One comment I get a lot focuses on how lucky I was to have a supportive husband throughout our ordeal. We were truly “on the same page” and worked together as a team to help our son as best we could. We’d bounce ideas off each other and collaborate on each decision that had to be made.

And it was still so difficult.

Not surprisingly, these comments impress upon me how truly lucky I was, and am, to have had the unwavering support of my husband during such trying times. And then, of course, I think of the flip side…….what if I’d been on my own?

The reality is there are lots of single parents and caregivers who have children or other family members who are struggling with OCD or other illnesses, and so many of them have no choice but to “go it alone.” And then there are families with two parents under the same roof, but they don’t see eye to eye. In some instances this might even be worse than being a single parent, as there is likely friction and disagreement every step of the way in their child’s journey.

If I’d had to navigate my son Dan’s journey through severe OCD without my husband, would things have turned out as well as they did? Maybe; I really don’t know. What I do know is that I would have been a lot worse off mentally and emotionally (I wasn’t doing so great at times even with Gary’s support). Talk about feeling alone.

My heart goes out to all parents and caregivers who are struggling, on their own, to help their children or other loved ones. While there is no substitute for a supportive partner, there are people who can help you. Friends, other relatives, and therapists might be able to relieve some of the loneliness and confusion. When those close to you ask, “What can I do to help?” it’s important to give an honest answer. Maybe you just need a shoulder to cry on, an understanding ear, or an hour off so you can do something for yourself. Communicate with those who care about you! Some people also find blogs, forums, and support groups beneficial.

In the end, so much about a family’s journey through severe OCD is lonely, even with the support of others.  And of course, the more limited the support system, the more difficult the journey will likely be. So let’s all keep helping each other, as much as we can, as we navigate the turbulent waters of OCD.

It’s so much easier when we do it together.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to OCD and Support for Caregivers

  1. Lorre Leon Mendelson says:

    It really does take a village. Coming from the perspective of someone with OCD, this is a very isolating disorder: we are embarrassed, made fun of, ridiculed, treated in ways other than as equals and to have a support system, IS essential, you are right-on Janet. Many of us have other medical conditions, spiritual needs and emotional needs that can also be neglected. We must participate in all decisions having to do with us in order to heal from OCD. As we say in the disability community, Nothing About Us Without Us. Best, Lorre

  2. Diane says:

    Support amongst caregivers is so important! Unfortunately, when I found out that my oldest daughter had OCD about 8 years ago, I found few online resources. Much of what I found inspired very little hope. Within a year or so, another of my children developed an eating disorder and I found a great online community for parents. That community made all the difference in the world in my fight against ED. Now my oldest is going through her third battle with severe OCD, and your blog has really given me hope, Janet. We found a good OCD therapist who did skype sessions a few years ago during Battle #2, but unfortunately, more ERP should have been done. I’m determined that this time, she will continue with therapy until OCD has no hold on her anymore!

    Thanks for this wonderful blog and the hope you give to other parents!

    • Thanks so much for sharing Diane and also for your kind words. I’m so glad my blog has been helpful to you. Dan’s really tough times started around nine years ago so you and I were going through our children’s severe OCD around the same time. I also found very little online at the time, which is one of the reasons why I decided to blog once Dan recovered.
      It’s good that you know exactly what needs to be done for you daughter..more ERP. She will beat the OCD!! Please keep in touch as she moves forward and let me know how you both are doing.

  3. I wanted to say, “Amen!” when I finished reading this. I am so incredibly grateful that my husband and I have each other to bounce things off of. In the beginning, when he was still trying to dig for the underlying cause and I was the one doing the learning and reading about OCD, it was a little isolating. Truly, we all need one another to defeat the “OCD Monster.”

Leave a Reply

