2017 Here We Come!

by krishna arts freedigitalphotos.net

by krishna arts freedigitalphotos.net

For many people, with or without OCD, the onset of a new year stirs up a wide range of emotions……hope, trepidation, excitement, fear. Basically, a little bit of everything as we look ahead.

I find myself looking back as well. As I reflect upon this past year, both personally, professionally, and globally, I realize that as with every other year, there were ups and there were downs. I feel lucky to have so many blessings in my own life; at the top of the list are my wonderful family and friends. But I’ve also had my challenges in 2016. Haven’t we all? Isn’t this in fact, LIFE? The highs, the lows, and everything in between.

I think all this writing about obsessive-compulsive disorder has rubbed off on me, in a good way. I find myself being more and more mindful. I find that I’m not stressing out as much over potentially bad situations in my life, but instead I try to approach them with a sense of bemusement……kind of looking at things as an objective observer and reminding myself that, one way or the other, things will be okay.

What will 2017 bring for me? What will it bring for all of us? We can hope and we can plan and we can work toward our goals, but as we know, life is filled with uncertainty, so the answer to these questions has to be “I don’t know.” What I do know is we can all choose how we want to live our lives. While we might not be able to control what actually happens to us we can control how we react to whatever curveballs life decides to throw. I propose that instead of fearing the inevitable uncertainty in all of our lives, we embrace it and choose to live each day wholeheartedly; we can choose to not be shrouded in fear. I know it can be difficult, but it is also possible.

I wish all of you good health, peace, and happiness in the coming year.

Here’s to 2017 – uncertainty and all!

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2017 Here We Come!

  1. Anne says:

    Happy New Year Janet! Thank you for all your work on this site. You do great work and have helped us help our daughter. We are forever grateful. All the best to you for 2017.

    • Thanks for your kind words, Anne:). They are so appreciated and I’m so glad you have seen improvements in your daughter. I wish you and your family all the very best for 2017 as well!

  2. Susan says:

    Hi There, I agree wholeheartedly with you about how we can react to curveballs in life..I have a saying I keep on my desk…”if you can solve your problems, then what is the need for worrying?..if you can’t solve your problems.. then what is the use of worrying?” Wishing you & your family a great new year!

  3. Happy New Year! A friend from a support group recommended I visit your site. I struggle with magical thinking OCD. She thought you might have at some point been looking into or working on peer support for exposures. I’m looking for something of that nature. Feel free to shoot me a message on Facebook or perhaps an email if you’d like to connect. Thank you and a have a great day. Billie kekagel@yahoo.com

  4. Elizabeth Spevack, Champion for Mental Wellness says:

    Happy New Year!
    Thank you for the reminder, and best wishes to you as well.

Leave a Reply

