OCD and SSRI-Induced Apathy

by frameangel freedigitalphotos.net

I tend not to write too much about obsessive-compulsive disorder and medication. While I’ve shared some of my son’s experiences in the hopes of helping others, I am not a doctor. I realize that the decision to take medication for OCD is a very individual choice and I know that for some people, medication can be quite helpful. For others it is not.

I do, however, believe in being as informed as possible, which is why I think it is important to mention this article titled SSRI-Induced Indifference. The article isn’t new; in fact it was written in  2010.

In a nutshell, SSRI-Induced Indifference encompasses two categories: emotional and behavioral. The emotional aspect is what comes to my mind when thinking of typical side-effects of SSRI’s. Indeed, emotional blunting is not an uncommon complaint in those taking SSRI’s, and Dan experienced this side effect. People describe emotional blunting in many ways, but basically it is a lack of emotion – no highs, and no lows. You know you’re supposed to feel a certain way, but the emotions are just not there.

What I didn’t realize until I read the article is that Dan also experienced the behavioral aspect of SSRI-Induced Indifference known as SSRI-Induced Apathy, and this typically manifests through low motivation, or apathy. The article makes it clear that this apathy must not be attributed to a “reduced level of consciousness, cognitive impairment (e.g., dementia), or emotional distress (i.e., depression).”

What an eye opener! If you’ve read my book, you might remember that at one point in Dan’s recovery, he was doing the bare minimum needed to get from one day to the next. He wasn’t motivated in any aspect of his life, yet he didn’t really seem depressed. Once his medications were reduced and then eventually stopped, he easily became re-engaged in his life. I don’t know for sure, but my guess is that symptoms such as Dan’s might easily be misdiagnosed as depression.

So it’s something to be aware of. If you experience emotional blunting and/or apathy while taking an SSRI, I’d suggest discussing it with your doctor. The good news is that all symptoms of SSRI-Induced Indifference seem to disappear once the medication is stopped. As always, decisions regarding which, if any, medications to take need to be made alongside your health-care provider by carefully weighing the benefits of the drugs versus their risks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OCD and SSRI-Induced Apathy

  1. Maybe that ‘s what i have. My main goal in life- except going to brownies, is to sleep. Or lay there waking up from sleep. I’m not depressed tho. When i finally start doing something, i’m ok. I just have a hard time starting a project. I have been wondering if i should go from clomipramine to an ssri, but this sounds like it may not make a difference. I remember the days when i used to get lots done; i just dont really care. I do do what i need to do to keep the house running. Just not many extras- like cleaning out the linen closet, Once i get started on a room-cleaning project (like my daughter’s art room) i’m ok. It’s that getting started, or rather deciding i actually should clean it out. At first i thot this apathy was just cause i expended so much energy getting rid of ocd, that i just needed extra sleep/ down time. But it’s been a couple of years now. Maybe i do need to see the doctor about this.

Leave a Reply

