Thoughts about the Texas Flood

by atibodyphoto freedigitalphotos.net

While I try to keep up with what’s going on in the United States and the world, I am the first to admit I often stay away from the news – especially these days. If I pay too much attention to our country’s problems and issues, it affects me to the point where I can’t function well. And then what good am I to anybody? So I have chosen to pay attention to current events –  just enough to be informed, but not enough to interfere with living a good, productive life.

Recently, however, I’ve been glued to the news reports about the disaster in Texas. I’ve never seen anything like this in my life – flooding beyond belief – with so many people displaced and in need of help. Devastation on so many levels.

And yet, I can’t look away. The reason? I’m humbled and amazed at the strength and courage of all the people out there who are willingly putting themselves in harm’s way for the sole purpose of helping others.

Firefighters, police, the Coast Guard, and medical professionals of all levels are working tirelessly to save lives. They are all heroes. What I find most inspiring, however, is the fact that “everyday people” are out there in their trucks, boats, and Jet Skis when they don’t have to be; they are posting their phone numbers on Facebook so those who need help can reach them. They are risking their lives to help men, women, children, the elderly, those who are ill, and those who have disabilities. Nobody is comparing political views or only saving “their kind.” It’s simply people helping people and it is heartening to see.

You might be wondering what this post has to do with obsessive-compulsive disorder. Well, not much. But since I tend to relate everything to OCD, it has crossed my mind that there are likely hundreds (if not thousands) of people with OCD in Texas who are directly involved in either the disaster relief, or are in need of assistance themselves.

How are they coping? How are they dealing with contamination fears, fear of harm, and everything else OCD might be throwing at them?

Well, while I don’t know for sure, my guess is they are rising to the occasion and doing what they need to do. As we have seen over and over, when disaster does actually strike, those with OCD are usually just as capable of handling adversity as those without the disorder. All that worry and anxiety over what might be, and it turns out that people with obsessive-compulsive disorder are braver than they ever thought possible. I just wish there didn’t have to be a tragedy for some people to realize how much strength they actually have.

Having spoken about OCD in Austin, San Antonio, and Dallas, I feel a personal connection to the OCD communities in Texas. I will continue to keep everyone there in my thoughts and prayers…..

 

This entry was posted in Mental Health, OCD and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thoughts about the Texas Flood

  1. Shared on my Facebook Page and yes, bad times often bring out the best in all.

  2. Shelby Spear says:

    I hear you… to the last word in your email. My 21 yr old son has OCD and the concerns of the world really get to him. But I know he would drop everything emotionally to help someone in neeed….I’ve seen him. I wrote something last week about this phenomenon of how we as humans put everything aside instantly during tragedy and wanted to share. Here is a snippet with link to full article. And thanks for all you do in helping us with this newsletter.

    Why Does It Take a Tragedy or Disaster to Unite Humanity? We are wired to love at our core, and tragedy, disaster, trauma flips a switch inside us. It converts negative energy related to all things trivial, petty, fleeting, hurtful, and divisive into heartfelt focus on relationship to our fellow man. Connection and unity—our true life force—takes over. We put all things “me” aside for all things “you.” What a phenomenon. Thank you, #Houston, for showing us what real love is.
    https://shelbyspear.com/why-does-it-take-a-tragedy-or-disaster-to-unite-humanity/

Leave a Reply

